top of page
Kevin March Headshot (color).png
Echo & Narcissus


Echo & Narcissus is a chamber opera in one act by composer Kevin March with a libretto by Jane Montgomery Griffiths. The opera was commissioned by Victorian Opera (Melbourne) and premiered in 2021.


Based on a story from Book III of Ovid’s Metamorphosis, Echo & Narcissus tells the stories of the mountain nymph Echo and the object of her affection, Narcissus who both undergo devastating and shattering experiences that transform them into something beautiful.


In 2022 Echo & Narcissus won the Green Room Award for New Australian Opera at the 39th Annual Green Room Awards.  

First Performance

17 March, 2021, Victorian Opera, Arts Centre Playhouse, Melbourne, Australia.
Director: Sam Strong, Conductor: Simon Bruckard.



Echo: soprano
Narcissus: baritone
Nymph Chorus (SSMMAA)



Flute/Alto Flute



Percussion (1 player)



Piano vocal and full scores are available from the composer. 

To requestx these scores, please click here.

bottom of page